Get a New Mexico Fishing License

Purchase your New Mexico fishing license so you can cast a line out on one of the state’s quality waters for trout or reel in a largemouth bass from Cochiti Lake. Take your family along and teach them how to identify different species or show them a new fishing technique -- just be sure to check the NM fishing license age requirements and fishing regulations beforehand.

Get a New Mexico Fishing License

NEW MEXICO FISHING LAWS AND REGULATIONS

Without fishing laws and regulations, certain fish species would become depleted or extinct. Fishing regulations help to protect fish populations and ensure a quality fishing experience for generations to come. Check the current set of fishing regulations prior to each trip so that you are aware of changes or updates. Every angler is responsible for knowing the size limits, bag limits, fishing seasons and gear regulations that apply to the species and waterway.

IT’S NOT A FEE, IT’S A CONTRIBUTION

Fees from your license purchase help fund habitat development efforts and conservation programs. It’s easy to buy your New Mexico fishing license online if you want to start fishing right away. Otherwise, you can purchase your license in person from a license vendor, such as a tackle shop or outdoor sporting goods store.

New Mexico Fishing License

NEW MEXICO FISHING LICENSE INFORMATION

  • You can purchase your New Mexico fishing license online, at all New Mexico Department of Game & Fish offices, or through a licensed agent.
  • A valid license is required for persons age 12 and older. You must have your fishing license in your possession at all times while fishing in the State.
  • New Mexico offers an annual, 1-day, and 5-day fishing licenses. The annual license period begins on April 1 and runs to the end of March the following year