Register a Boat in Connecticut
Once you have your Connecticut boat registration and hull identification numbers, you can choose where to take a leisurely cruise or go fishing with your family. There are freshwater or saltwater launch ramps that can be found in Connecticut’s state parks and in Long Island Sound. Use these links to learn more about boat registration requirements and boating laws.
Register Your Boat
CONNECTICUT BOATING REGISTRATION AND LICENSING
Connecticut has hundreds of waterways for boating. You can boat on the state’s many freshwater rivers, lakes, and reservoirs with a registered boat.
All boat operators need to know the safe boating basics and must abide by the boating rules of the road set forth by the state. Boaters can learn more about safe boating basics, filing a float plan, what to do during times of inclement weather, environmental considerations and personal flotation devices by taking a boating education or safe boating class.
IT’S NOT A FEE, IT’S A CONTRIBUTION
Connecticut boat registration dollars are used to help sustain resources that promote safe and responsible use of state waterways. Some states also require you to have a safe boating certificate or boat license in order to operate a motorboat.
Connecticut boat registration
In Connecticut, all boats and personal watercraft can be registered at the DMV. Applicants will need to provide a copy of the Coast Guard final documentation paper, the bill of sale, the hull number, the Vessel Registration Application, and pay the registration fee.
Registration fees are based on the length and age of the boat and the hull material. A full fee schedule is available online. Fees range from $1.88 to $525.
Any vessel less than 19 and 1/2 feet in length without any motor and is not a motorboat, such as a sailboat powered by sail alone, or is propelled solely by oar or paddle does not require registration.
- Length less than 15 feet powered by a motor less than 15 HP - $7.50
- Canoe with a motor - $7.50
- Pontoon (not houseboat) $40.00
- Aquatic Invasive Species fee - $5.00 (Renewal)
Title Fee: Model year 2017 or newer (for exempt vessels, see form B-220). The administration fee is not applicable for vessels.
- $25.00 for Title
- $10.00 for Lien Holder if applicable
Connecticut boat registration can be completed online after completing the Boating Education Course.
Approximately one week after completing the course, boaters can visit the Online Sportsman Licensing System to purchase and print their certificate. There is a one-time fee of $50.
Connecticut boat registration requirements include passing the Boater Exam to obtain a Connecticut boating license. A boating education course is offered for those who are looking to obtain a boating license. The course is one day, 8-hour course and includes information on safe boating and Personal Watercraft Operation (PWC Boating). It also includes waterski towing for the Safe Waterskiing Endorsement.
The course is mandated by the State of Connecticut and offered by federal and state-licensed providers.
Boaters who completed the licensing course before October 1st, 2015 are grandfathered in for the Safe Waterskiing Endorsement. There are two options for boaters who only have a Safe Boating Certificate: retake the course or take the Upgrade Course, which is only offered in Hartford.
Boating courses can be booked online and are taken online. The course costs $89 per student.
The exam covers general boating information and safety topics, Connecticut State law, trailering, waterways, canoes, motorboats, sailboats, PWCs, rowboats, etc. A score of 80% or better is required to pass. The course must be taken again if the exam is not passed.