Get a Massachusetts Fishing License

Whether you want to fish for freshwater for species like smallmouth bass and trout or saltwater fishing for ocean sport fish species like flounder and redfish you will need a license. Check the regulations for seasons, size limits and bag limits.

Get a Massachusetts Fishing License
Fishing License


Since fishing regulations help protect and preserve fish in our state fish populations, every angler must check the current set of regulations before each fishing trip. All states have a different set of regulations, and most are updated by the season or by the month.


Imagine what a lake, pond, stream, river or ocean would be like if there were no fishing regulations in place. Fish populations would become depleted or even extinct. Given the pleasure fishing brings to millions of people, we all need to do our part to contribute towards conservation by knowing and understanding the importance of state fishing laws before visiting one of the top fishing spots in Massachusetts.

Fishing License Information
Anyone 15 years and older are required to have a fishing license in Massachusetts. All licenses are valid from the time of purchase until the end of the year.

Where to Purchase
Fishing licenses can be purchased online through the MassFishHunt system. Licenses are accepted through smartphones, or you can print a copy. Licenses can also be purchased in person at license agent locations such as select retail stores and MassWildlife Offices. Paper copies of licenses are issued at these locations. High-quality photos are also acceptable. Assistance is available for those with disabilities.

Resident freshwater licensing fees are free for 15–17-year-olds, $26 for a regular license which does not include the $5.00 Wildlife Conservation Stamp added to all first licenses purchased $13 for ages 65-69, and free for those with certain disabilities. Call (508) 389-6300 for preapproval. A three-day pass is available for $10.

A non-resident fishing license is $26 and requires preapproval. Call (508) 389-6300 for preapproval. For non-resident minors, the fee is $6.80. A three-day license is available for $20.90.

A Quabbin 1-day fishing license is $5.

Saltwater permits are $10 for anglers under 60 and free for those 60 and over.

There may be additional administrative fees depending on where you purchase your license. Online transactions have an additional administrative fee of $1.45 per license plus a 2% convenience fee. When buying at a vendor such as a sporting goods store or bait shop, or a city, town, or clerk’s office the administrative fee is $1.45 per license plus an agent fee of $1. If purchasing at a MassWildlife location of the Division of Marine Fisheries, there are no additional fees. These are also the only location where cash or check are accepted for licenses.

Fees for Massachusetts freshwater fishing licenses, permits, and stamps will gradually increase over the next five years to help fun MassWildlife’s programs and services.