⚠ Thanks for visiting TakeMeFishing.org. If you are interested in enjoying the outdoors and going fishing or boating, check the latest COVID-19 updates on your State Natural Resources Agency website first. We encourage you to follow CDC recommendations and official orders in your state before heading to the water.
Register a Boat in Illinois
Boating is a great way to spend time outdoors in the fresh air while being surrounded by the soothing sounds of the waves. It’s easy to find an Illinois waterway in your area and start enjoying the benefits of boating. You can find links to access boaters license forms, renew your license and learn Illinois boat laws in this section.
Register Your Boat
ILLINOIS BOATING LAWS AND REGULATIONS
Before you take your boat out for the first time, make sure you know the specific boat laws and regulations that apply in your state. Learn about the laws that pertain to operator age, personal flotation devices, emergency equipment and more.
IT’S NOT A FEE, IT’S A CONTRIBUTION
Once you apply for your Illinois boat registration (or boaters license), you will receive a registration number that must be displayed on your vessel. Keep in mind that you will need to pay a registration fee when you submit your application. Boat registration fees are important because they contribute to sustaining our natural resources and educating the public about the safe use of state waterways.
ILLINOIS BOAT REGISTRATION INFORMATION
- Vessels registrations expire every 3 years on June 30th.
- Processing time of applications may take up to 12 weeks from the date your payment has been made.
- Boating rules and regulations should be followed at all times for the safety of everyone on the water. The laws for each state may vary, so read the current Illinois boat laws here.