⚠ Thanks for visiting TakeMeFishing.org. If you are interested in enjoying the outdoors and going fishing or boating, check the latest COVID-19 updates on your State Natural Resources Agency website first. We encourage you to follow CDC recommendations and official orders in your state before heading to the water.

Get a Nebraska Fishing License

Once you have your Nebraska fishing license, you can catch a largemouth bass or reel in a beautiful rainbow trout on one of the state’s many freshwater lakes. Fishing licenses are sold through the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission, which is the state agency that implements programs to help protect and preserve Nebraska fish and game resources.

Get a Nebraska Fishing License
Fishing License


The Nebraska Game and Parks Commission sets the fishing regulations and laws that govern recreational Nebraska fish and game activities. Fishing regulations and laws cover topics such as specific fishing seasons, length limits, bag limits and the type of tackle or gear that is permitted. Check the regulations in advance of your trip since state has a unique set of fishing regulations that may change based on assessments of fish populations or waterways.


Fishing license or permit fees help contribute to fishery management, habitat protection, conservation education and other valuable state programs. With the number of recreational anglers on the rise, it is more important than ever to maintain a focus on fishing responsibly and doing our part to help with conservation efforts. As an angler, you can help with conservation efforts by participating in surveys or contributing to data collected for effective fish management plans.


  • There are a number of different Nebraska fishing license or permit types available for purchase online, such as annual or lifetime licenses. If you are an avid angler and plan to fish for years to come, a lifetime license can save you money over the long term.
  • A sport fishing license is required for any person 16 years of age and older.
  • You can purchase an annual, multi-year, 1-day or 3-day sport fishing license.