Get an Idaho Fishing License
Whether you want to fish for salmon and steelhead or trout, bass, walleye, or pike, you will need a license. Check the regulations for seasons, size limits and bag limits.
Get an Idaho Fishing License
IDAHO FISHING LAWS AND REGULATIONS
Since fishing regulations help protect and preserve fish our state fish populations, it is important that every angler check the current set of regulations before each fishing trip. All states have a distinct set of regulations, and most are updated by the season or by the month.
IT’S NOT A FEE, IT’S A CONTRIBUTION
Imagine what a lake, pond, stream, river or the ocean would be like if there were no fishing regulations in place. Fish populations would become depleted or even extinct. Given the pleasure fishing brings to millions of people, we all need to do our part to contribute towards conservation by knowing and understanding the importance of state fishing laws before visiting one of the top fishing spots in Idaho like Dierkes Lake, Lucky Peak Marina, or Gold Lake.
Fishing License Information
Anyone 14 years and older is required to have a fishing license in Idaho. For resident anglers under 14, a permit is not required, and each child has their own fishing limit. Nonresident anglers under 14 must be accompanied by a licensed adult. The child’s catches count towards the license holders fishing limit unless a separate permit is purchased for the child.
Where to Purchase
Fishing licenses can be purchased from license vendors, at regional offices of the Idaho Department of Fish and Game, online at Go Outdoors Idaho, or by phone at 1-800-554-8685. There is a processing fee for licenses purchased online or by phone.
Idaho residents who have been licensed every year since 2017 or have purchased any three-year license will pay the 2017 rates due to the Price Lock program.
Resident freshwater licensing fees are $30.50 for adults, $25.75 with Price Lock. A three-year adult permit is $73.75. Daily permits are available for $13.50 per day or $11.50 if locked. Additional days can be added for $6 or $5 if locked.
Resident junior permits for teenagers 14-17 years old are $16 or $13.75 on Price Lock. A three-year license is $37.75.
For Idaho residents serving in the US military and maintain Idaho as their official state of residence, military furlough licenses are available while on leave for $20.50 or $17.50 locked. An LES statement must be presented at the time of purchase.
Resident veterans with a disability rate of 40% or above can purchase an annual license for $5.75 or $5 if locked. Disabled residents can purchase a fishing license at the same rate with a letter from SSI, SSDI, or Railroad Retirement board showing person is currently disabled and economically disadvantaged or a signed and completed Certification of Permanent Disability form.
Combination hunting and fishing licenses are also available as are lifetime licenses. A lifetime license for an infant (0-1) is $601.75. For adults (2-50) the cost is $841.75. For seniors 51 and older the license fee is $481.75.
For nonresidents, an annual adult fishing license is $108 and a three-year license is $320.50. Daily licenses are available for $22.75. Additional consecutive days can be added for $7 per day.
A salmon and steelhead three-day license is $44.75.
Junior licenses (14-17) are $23.75 for one year or $67.75 for three years.