⚠ Thanks for visiting TakeMeFishing.org. If you are interested in enjoying the outdoors and going fishing or boating, check the latest COVID-19 updates on your State Natural Resources Agency website first. We encourage you to follow CDC recommendations and official orders in your state before heading to the water.
Register a Boat in Georgia
Since about ninety percent of Americans live less than an hour from a navigable body of water, boating opportunities are more convenient than you might think. Once you have made the decision to take advantage of these opportunities, the next steps are simple. You will need to get or renew your GA boat registration, brush up on boat rules and practice safe boating.
Register Your Boat
GEORGIA BOATING LAWS AND REGULATIONS
Aside from having the proper Georgia boat registration documentation, you will also need to know and understand the state boating laws and regulations before you take your first boat trip. Georgia has its own set of boating rules to protect the waterways and keep everyone who uses them safe.
IT’S NOT A FEE, IT’S A CONTRIBUTION
Having your boat registration means that a boat legally belongs to you and that you are licensed to operate the vessel in Georgia waters. There is a GA boat registration fee that you will have to pay that helps to fund resources that promote safe and responsible use of state waterways.
GEORGIA BOAT REGISTRATION INFORMATION
- You can register your vessel online, by mail or by calling 1800-366-2661.
- Sailboats, canoes, kayaks, and rowboats less than 12 feet in length with no mechanical propulsion do not require a registration.
- Registration is required for all mechanically propelled vessels and sailboats over 12 feet in length that are used on Georgia waterways.