⚠ Thanks for visiting TakeMeFishing.org. If you are interested in enjoying the outdoors and going fishing or boating, check the latest COVID-19 updates on your State Natural Resources Agency website first. We encourage you to follow CDC recommendations and official orders in your state before heading to the water.
Register a Boat in Washington
You might be ready to buy a sportfishing boat so you can go on salmon fishing trips in Puget Sound or purchase an aluminum fishing boat that will make it easy to scout for trout on the Little Spokane River. No matter which type of boat you choose, you will need to get your Boater Education Card and WA boating license (or boat registration).
Register Your Boat
WASHINGTON BOATING LAWS AND REGULATIONS
As a boat operator, you need to be certain that your boat carries the proper safety equipment required by law and that you are in compliance with federal as well as Washington state boating rules and regulations. Safety equipment can include items such as personal floatation devices (PFD), visual distress signals, fire extinguishers, and sound producing devices.
IT’S NOT A FEE, IT’S A CONTRIBUTION
When you register your boat you will need to pay a registration fee; however, the funds collected from boat registration fees help to promote the conservation of our natural aquatic areas.
WASHINGTON BOAT REGISTRATION INFORMATION
- All vessels that require registration must be titled through the Washington State Department of Licensing.
- Boaters must title and register their vessels within 60 days of moving to Washington.
- If you live in Washington and bought the boat in another state, you must title and register your vessel within 15 days of its purchase.